Goodbye 2013

As we are saying goodbye to 2013, it’s time to revisit the year that was! I guess this is my first year-end note, though for sure not my first attempt at it. I am not the sort of guy who likes to dwell on the past, but the notes of this kind serve a definite purpose. They give you a chance to introspect and ponder, to take stock of your life; and they urge you to look at the things-to-come with beamish eyes.

The past twelve months actually passed without much hubbub. Nothing momentous happened, except for the fact that I changed my job. I joined the weekly magazine Economic & Political Weekly as a proofreader. I was astonished when I received the mail informing me of my selection. My eyes were gleaming with joy as I was reading it. I consider myself lucky to get a chance to work at EPW so early in my life.

The best thing about my job is that I get paid to read (and read pretty interesting stuff, mind you)! I cannot ask for anything better. Wise men say, make your hobby your job. I can proudly say that I have managed to do so. (I fear I sound vain here.)

This was also the year when I met some really wonderful people. Ruchi has specifically asked me to mention her somewhere in this post. So yes, Ruchi was one of them. I consider myself lucky to have met her.

I started taking English language classes early in the year for schoolchildren in my village but stopped after couple of months due to time constraints. However, I have started teaching again, this time to the students of an Ashram Shala. A friend of mine has started a group called Junoon. Under one of the initiatives of the group we have adopted an Ashram Shala in the village adjacent to mine. After starting work in this school, I rediscovered how much I enjoy teaching and interacting with children.

This year I also discovered that I love cooking. Actually I love doing most of the household chores. Staying away from your family teaches you many things. Self-reliance is one of them.

As far as my passions are concerned I would like to believe that my writing is improving with each passing year, 2013 being no exception. But I wish I wrote more. I managed to read quite a few books this year, more non-fiction than fiction. But I wish I had taken notes or at least wrote about those books in my diary as I was reading them. In 2014 I will try to blog about most of the books that I read. I will also try to be more regular with my diary.

A few weeks ago I got introduced (thanks to Utkarsha) to this book club called Bookhad, a club made up of a bunch of voracious readers who also love to write. I guess I have finally found my tribe. I am hoping Bookhad will help me streamline my reading and writing.

To get a li’l philosophical at the end, this was the year when I realised that it’s better to be proactive than reactive. It’s better to do something (even on a very small scale) than to just talk. Also, it’s futile to try to find the meaning of life, because there is none. People who claim to have found it, it’s their perspective, a subjective point of view; not an objective truth. Also, it’s good to dream Utopia. It will keep you motivated. But you need to understand that Utopia is but a dream, a dream that human-kind will never be able to realise. This is a very humbling truth. It will shield you from getting disappointed at all the depressing stuff happening around you and at the fact that you are not being able to do anything about it. I would like to quote the first line of the shloka that I keep repeating to myself many times: Karmanye Vadhikaraste, Ma phaleshou kadachan (you have a right to perform your prescribed action, but you are not entitled to the fruits of your action). Keep doing things which you deem right. Also, whatever life throws at you, accept gracefully!

Wish you a happy new year!

4 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013

  1. Congratulations on your new “hobby” and meeting someone. I do hope you pick English back up so that you can teach the children, if not by class then by Rosetta Stone. It would so help them in the future and they may already look up to you and are bummed that you are teaching them as you were before. Besides it will also help you with your new job. Learning never ends as long as you keep your mind open. Happy New Year!

Leave a Comment

